Үнэлгээ өгөх Үнэлгээ өгөх


Mongolia and Russia enjoy traditionally friendly and good-neighborly relations. Mongolia and Russia have established diplomatic relations by signing the Agreement on Establishment of friendly relations on November 5, 1921 between the People’s Government of Mongolia and the Government of the Soviet Russia. The two countries opened their respective embassies in Ulaanbaatar and Moscow in 1922.

Since the establishment of diplomatic relations the two countries have been actively developing relations covering many areas of social interaction including the spheres of politics, defense, road, transportation, mining, food, agriculture, education, culture, science and health through implementing high-level visits.

Starting from 2009 the two countries have been developing their relations in the spirit of strategic partnership. Russia became the first country with which we have established strategic partnership.

The working visit paid by President Vladimir Putin to Mongolia in September 2014 served as a testament to our strong bilateral relations. Russian President’s visit to Mongolia was timed to celebrations of the 75th anniversary of the joint victory of Mongolian and Soviet military forces in the battle of Khalkhin-Gol.

By the end of 2014 trade volume between Mongolia and Russia was 1.6 billion USD of which Mongolia’s import was 1.5 billion US dollars, and export 61.6 million USD. In the period starting from 1990 to 2014 the volume of Russian investments in Mongolia reached 297 million USD, which accounts for 2.1% of total foreign direct investments in Mongolia.

Mongolian- Russian joint companies which serve as flagships of Mongolian economy such as Erdenet, Ulaanbaatar Railways and Mongolrostvetmet play an important role in the bilateral economic collaboration. Today we are working together with our Russian partners in order to improve their economic capacity and legal environment.

Within the framework of the bilateral cooperation in education field, 2760 Mongolian students have studied in Russia between 2000-2013 upon the agreements between the governments of Mongolia and Russia.

According to the agreement between the Government of Mongolia and the Government of the Russian Federation on visa exemption the citizens of the two countries can travel or transit through the territory of the other country for 30 days.